Welcome

For complete information on the Nursing program, please visit the program section of the John Abbott website.

The Nursing Profession

The Profession

As professionals, nurses play a central role in the delivery of health care services. Using their nursing skills and knowledge, they care for clients and help educate those people who, for whatever reason, cannot meet their own health requirements. Nurses also work to meet the needs of clients’ families by providing information and support as required.

Nursing is a multidisciplinary profession, drawn from several different bodies of knowledge – scientific knowledge as it relates to health, disease and illness; technical knowledge as it relates to procedures and technology in clinical healthcare; knowledge of communication and observation skills to perceive information clients cannot or do not communicate; and the decision-making skills needed for optimal client health care.

Graduates must successfully pass the Nursing Professional examination in order to practice nursing in Québec. The licence is granted by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de Québec (OIIQ).

Entry to the Profession

The Nursing Professional licensing examinations

To write the Nursing Professional examinations, candidates must be Canadian citizens or have landed immigrant status. Students must have completed a DEC by end of July to be eligible to write the exam in September and have completed a DEC by the end of January to write in March.

Québec’s French requirement

In addition, the Québec Professional Nursing license is based on a working knowledge of the French language. Students who cannot show proof of three years secondary, or post-secondary, instruction in French must pass a language exam set by the Office de la langue française (OLF).  If you graduated from an approved high school in Québec after 1986, you do not have to write the OLF exams.

Nursing Profession

Successful completion of the licensing exam and French requirement (if necessary) will allow the graduate to practice nursing in Québec. To practice in other provinces or the U.S. contact the specific province or state nursing licensing organization.

Members of the Department

Aiton-Spevack, Lesley :

Aiton-Spevack, Lesley


514-457-6610 ext. 5802
HS-524
lesley.aiton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Beffert, Ute :

Beffert, Ute


514-457-6610 ext. 5028
HS-519
ute.beffert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Borduas, Coralie :

Borduas, Coralie



HS-503
coralie.borduas@johnabbott.qc.ca


Brereton, Melissa :

Brereton, Melissa


514-457-6610 ext. 5901
HS-524
melissa.brereton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Browman, Diane :

Browman, Diane


514-457-6610 ext. 5669
HS-522
ddiane.browman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Cadotte, Samantha :

Cadotte, Samantha


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503
samantha.cadotte@johnabbott.qc.ca


Carfagnini, Linda :

Carfagnini, Linda


514-457-6610 ext. 5632
HS-525
linda.carfagnini@johnabbott.qc.ca


Coates, Lasheema :

Coates, Lasheema


514-457-6610 ext. 5009
HS-503
lasheema.coates@johnabbott.qc.ca


Coveduck, Debbie :

Coveduck, Debbie


514-457-6610 ext. 5764
HS-515
debbie.coveduck@johnabbott.qc.ca


Dandy, Laurie :

Dandy, Laurie


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503 Nursing
laurie.dandy@johnabbott.qc.ca


Davidson, Christine :

Davidson, Christine


514-457-6610 ext. 5012
HS-516
christine.davidson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Dee, Elizabeth :

Dee, Elizabeth


514-457-6610 ext. 5637
HS-503
elizabeth.dee@johnabbott.qc.ca


Findlay, Judith :

Findlay, Judith


514-457-6610 ext. 5811
HS-522
judith.findlay@johnabbott.qc.ca


Frew, Elanore :

Frew, Elanore


514-457-6610 ext. 5823
HS-511
elanore.frew@johnabbott.qc.ca


Geng, Tong :

Geng, Tong



HS-503
tong.geng@johnabbott.qc.ca


Godfrey, Maureen :

Godfrey, Maureen


514-457-6610 ext. 5077
HS-515
maureen.godfrey@johnabbott.qc.ca


Griffin, Mary Grace :

Griffin, Mary Grace


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
AME-503
mary-grace.griffin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Heramchuk, Tracy :

Heramchuk, Tracy


514-457-6610 ext. 5628
HS-517
tracy.heramchuk@johnabbott.qc.ca


Jaramillo, Gloria : Chair

Jaramillo, Gloria

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5532
HS-514
gloria.jaramillo@johnabbott.qc.ca


Joseph, Andie Myriam :

Joseph, Andie Myriam




andie.joseph@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kalli, Naleta :

Kalli, Naleta


514-457-6610 ext. 5007
HS-503
naleta.kalli@johnabbott.qc.ca


Keri, Tasha Natalie :

Keri, Tasha Natalie




tasha.keri@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lawrence, Patricia :

Lawrence, Patricia


514-457-6610 ext. 5825
HS-517
patricia.lawrence@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lecouffe, Sandy : Lab Technician

Lecouffe, Sandy

Lab Technician
514-457-6610 ext. 5627
HS-551
sandy.lecouffe@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lewis, Maria :

Lewis, Maria


514-457-6610 ext. 5341

maria.lewis@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lybert, Maxine Christine : Teacher - Continuing Education

Lybert, Maxine Christine

Teacher - Continuing Education


maxine.lybert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lyons, Anne :

Lyons, Anne


514-457-6610 ext. 5761
HS-519
anne.lyons@johnabbott.qc.ca


Naraine, Sharon :

Naraine, Sharon


514-457-6610 ext. 5338
HS-524
sharon.naraine@johnabbott.qc.ca


Noel, Danielle :

Noel, Danielle


514-457-6610 ext. 5076
HS-503 Nursing
danielle.noel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Nymark, Tia :

Nymark, Tia


514-457-6610 ext. 5660
HS-514
tia.nymark@johnabbott.qc.ca


Pearsall, Jane :

Pearsall, Jane


514-457-6610 ext. 5997
HS-521
jane.pearsall@johnabbott.qc.ca


Perron, Maria :

Perron, Maria


514-457-6610 ext. 5814
HS-521
maria.perron@johnabbott.qc.ca


Prsa, Sandra :

Prsa, Sandra


514-457-6610 ext. 5974

sandra.prsa@johnabbott.qc.ca


Robinson, Lynette :

Robinson, Lynette


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503
lynette.robinson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sabiston, Judy :

Sabiston, Judy


514-457-6610 ext. 5830
HS-523
judy.sabiston@johnabbot.qc.ca


Schneider, Erica :

Schneider, Erica


514-457-6610 ext. 5954
HS-520
erica.schneider@johnabbott.qc.ca


Struna, Tatjana :

Struna, Tatjana


514-457-6610 ext. 5995
HS-511
tatjana.struna@johnabbott.qc.ca


Van Vliet, Cynthia :

Van Vliet, Cynthia


514-457-6610 ext. 5046
HS-520
cynthia.vanvliet@johnabbott.qc.ca


Weekes, Edlyn :

Weekes, Edlyn


514-457-6610 ext. 5045
HS-503
edlyn.weekes@johnabbott.qc.ca


Young, Susan : Co-Chair

Young, Susan

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5813
HS-522
susan.young@johnabbott.qc.ca


Yumang, Melvin John :

Yumang, Melvin John




melvin.yumang@johnabbott.qc.ca


Members of the Department - Nursing Intensive

Intensive Nursing Office :

Intensive Nursing Office


514-457-6610 ext. 5013
HS-518
nursing.office@johnabbott.qc.ca


Belgrave, Rosalind :

Belgrave, Rosalind


514-457-6610 ext. 5034
HS-513
rosalind.belgrave@johnabbott.qc.ca


Belts, Polina :

Belts, Polina



HS-504
polina.belts@johnabbott.qc.ca


Boutin, Sabrina :

Boutin, Sabrina



HS-504
sabrina.boutin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Broda, Theresa :

Broda, Theresa


514-457-6610 ext. 5078
HS-504
theresa.broda@johnabbott.qc.ca


Colman, Catherine :

Colman, Catherine



HS-504
catherine.colman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Dawkins, Hortense :

Dawkins, Hortense



HS-504
hortense.dawkins@johnabbott.qc.ca


De Palma, Lyne : Coordinator, Intensive Nursing

De Palma, Lyne

Coordinator, Intensive Nursing
514-457-6610 ext. 5633
HS-526



Faubert, Tamara :

Faubert, Tamara



HS-504
tamara.faubert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Frick, Lisa :

Frick, Lisa



HS-504
lisa.frick@johnabbott.qc.ca


Ghanbari, Armin :

Ghanbari, Armin


514-457-6610
AME-504
armin.ghanbari@johnabbott.qc.ca


Gibeault, Priscilla :

Gibeault, Priscilla



HS-504
priscilla.gibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hauptman, Marta :

Hauptman, Marta



HS-504
marta.hauptman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hodges, Gloria :

Hodges, Gloria



HS-504
gloria.hodges@concordia.ca


Holder, Vandra :

Holder, Vandra


514-457-6610 ext. 5525
HS-504
Vandra.holder@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hussein, Hoda :

Hussein, Hoda


514-457-6610 ext. 5634
HS-504
hoda.hussein@johnabbott.qc.ca


Oabel, Bernardo :

Oabel, Bernardo


514-457-6610 ext. 5006
H-421
bernardo.oabel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Oabel, Maria :

Oabel, Maria


514-457-6610 ext. 5027
HS-504
maria.oabel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Pietracupa, Micheline :

Pietracupa, Micheline



HS-504
michelina.pietracupa@johnabbott.qc.ca


Scott, Claudette :

Scott, Claudette


514-457-6610 ext. 5648
HS-513
claudette.scott@johnabbott.qc.ca


Shewchuk, Sonia :

Shewchuk, Sonia


514-457-6610 ext. 5208
HS-503
sonia.shewchuck@johnabbott.qc.ca


Shillingford, Karen :

Shillingford, Karen



H-421
karen.shillingford@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sobieraj, Gregory :

Sobieraj, Gregory



H-421
gregory.sobieraj@johnabbott.qc.ca


Straughton, Kristina :

Straughton, Kristina



H-421
kristina.straughton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Swiercz, Kristina :

Swiercz, Kristina


514-457-6610 ext. 5537
HS-504
kristina.swiercz@johnabbott.qc.ca


Williams, Diane :

Williams, Diane


514-457-6610 ext. 5646
HS-504
diane.williams@johnabbott.qc.ca


Wilson, Meighan :

Wilson, Meighan


514-457-6610 ext. 5432

meighan.wilson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Wong, Tracie :

Wong, Tracie



HS-504
tracie.wong@johnabbott.qc.ca


Courses

For a complete list of courses taught by the Nursing department, please visit the Nursing section of the Course Calendar.