Nursing

Welcome

For complete information on the Nursing program, please visit the program section of the John Abbott website.

The Nursing Profession

The Profession

As professionals, nurses play a central role in the delivery of health care services. Using their nursing skills and knowledge, they care for clients and help educate those people who, for whatever reason, cannot meet their own health requirements. Nurses also work to meet the needs of clients’ families by providing information and support as required.

Nursing is a multidisciplinary profession, drawn from several different bodies of knowledge – scientific knowledge as it relates to health, disease and illness; technical knowledge as it relates to procedures and technology in clinical healthcare; knowledge of communication and observation skills to perceive information clients cannot or do not communicate; and the decision-making skills needed for optimal client health care.

Graduates must successfully pass the Nursing Professional examination in order to practice nursing in Québec. The licence is granted by the Ordre des infirmières et infirmiers de Québec (OIIQ).

Entry to the Profession

The Nursing Professional licensing examinations

To write the Nursing Professional examinations, candidates must be Canadian citizens or have landed immigrant status. Students must have completed a DEC by end of July to be eligible to write the exam in September and have completed a DEC by the end of January to write in March.

Québec’s French requirement

In addition, the Québec Professional Nursing license is based on a working knowledge of the French language. Students who cannot show proof of three years secondary, or post-secondary, instruction in French must pass a language exam set by the Office de la langue française (OLF).  If you graduated from an approved high school in Québec after 1986, you do not have to write the OLF exams.

Nursing Profession

Successful completion of the licensing exam and French requirement (if necessary) will allow the graduate to practice nursing in Québec. To practice in other provinces or the U.S. contact the specific province or state nursing licensing organization.

Members of the Department

Lesley Aiton-Spevack :

Lesley Aiton-Spevack


514-457-6610 ext. 5802
HS-524
lesley.aiton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Ute Beffert :

Ute Beffert


514-457-6610 ext. 5028
HS-519
ute.beffert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Coralie Borduas :

Coralie Borduas



HS-503
coralie.borduas@johnabbott.qc.ca


Melissa Brereton :

Melissa Brereton


514-457-6610 ext. 5901
HS-524
melissa.brereton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Diane Browman :

Diane Browman


514-457-6610 ext. 5669
HS-522
ddiane.browman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Samantha Cadotte :

Samantha Cadotte


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503
samantha.cadotte@johnabbott.qc.ca


Linda Carfagnini :

Linda Carfagnini


514-457-6610 ext. 5632
HS-525
linda.carfagnini@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lasheema Coates :

Lasheema Coates


514-457-6610 ext. 5009
HS-503
lasheema.coates@johnabbott.qc.ca


Debbie Coveduck :

Debbie Coveduck


514-457-6610 ext. 5764
HS-515
debbie.coveduck@johnabbott.qc.ca


Laurie Dandy :

Laurie Dandy


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503 Nursing
laurie.dandy@johnabbott.qc.ca


Christine Davidson :

Christine Davidson


514-457-6610 ext. 5012
HS-516
christine.davidson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Elizabeth Dee :

Elizabeth Dee


514-457-6610 ext. 5637
HS-503
elizabeth.dee@johnabbott.qc.ca


Judith Findlay :

Judith Findlay


514-457-6610 ext. 5811
HS-522
judith.findlay@johnabbott.qc.ca


Elanore Frew :

Elanore Frew


514-457-6610 ext. 5823
HS-511
elanore.frew@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tong Geng :

Tong Geng



HS-503
tong.geng@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maureen Godfrey :

Maureen Godfrey


514-457-6610 ext. 5077
HS-515
maureen.godfrey@johnabbott.qc.ca


Richard Guillotte :

Richard Guillotte


514-457-6610 ext. 5435
HS-512 Nursing
richard.guillotte@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tracy Heramchuk :

Tracy Heramchuk


514-457-6610 ext. 5628
HS-517
tracy.heramchuk@johnabbott.qc.ca


Karen Hickey :

Karen Hickey


514-457-6610 ext. 5810
HS-512
karen.hickey@johnabbott.qc.ca


Gloria Jaramillo : Chair

Gloria Jaramillo

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5532
HS-514
gloria.jaramillo@johnabbott.qc.ca


Naleta Kalli :

Naleta Kalli


514-457-6610 ext. 5007
HS-503
naleta.kalli@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tasha Natalie Keri :

Tasha Natalie Keri


514-457-6610 ext. 5279

tasha.keri@johnabbott.qc.ca


Patricia Lawrence :

Patricia Lawrence


514-457-6610 ext. 5825
HS-517
patricia.lawrence@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sandy Lecouffe : Lab Technician

Sandy Lecouffe

Lab Technician
514-457-6610 ext. 5627
HS-551
sandy.lecouffe@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maria Lewis :

Maria Lewis


514-457-6610 ext. 5341

maria.lewis@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maxine Christine Lybert : Teacher - Continuing Education

Maxine Christine Lybert

Teacher - Continuing Education


maxine.lybert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Anne Lyons :

Anne Lyons


514-457-6610 ext. 5761
HS-519
anne.lyons@johnabbott.qc.ca


Janet Morrison :

Janet Morrison


514-457-6610 ext. 5005
HS-525
janet.morrison@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sharon Naraine :

Sharon Naraine


514-457-6610 ext. 5338
HS-524
sharon.naraine@johnabbott.qc.ca


Danielle Noel :

Danielle Noel


514-457-6610 ext. 5076
HS-503 Nursing
danielle.noel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tia Nymark :

Tia Nymark


514-457-6610 ext. 5660
HS-514
tia.nymark@johnabbott.qc.ca


Jane Pearsall :

Jane Pearsall


514-457-6610 ext. 5997
HS-521
jane.pearsall@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maria Perron :

Maria Perron


514-457-6610 ext. 5814
HS-521
maria.perron@johnabbott.qc.ca


Josée Pigeon :

Josée Pigeon


514-457-6610 ext. 5598
HS-516
josee.pigeon@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sandra Prsa :

Sandra Prsa


514-457-6610 ext. 5974

sandra.prsa@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lynette Robinson :

Lynette Robinson


514-457-6610 ext. 5279
HS-503
lynette.robinson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Judy Sabiston :

Judy Sabiston


514-457-6610 ext. 5830
HS-523
judy.sabiston@johnabbot.qc.ca


Erica Schneider :

Erica Schneider


514-457-6610 ext. 5954
HS-520
erica.schneider@johnabbott.qc.ca


Janet Steinman :

Janet Steinman


514-457-6610 ext. 5373
HS-511
janet.steinman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tatjana Struna :

Tatjana Struna


514-457-6610 ext. 5995
HS-511
tatjana.struna@johnabbott.qc.ca


Cynthia Van Vliet :

Cynthia Van Vliet


514-457-6610 ext. 5046
HS-520
cynthia.vanvliet@johnabbott.qc.ca


Edlyn Weekes :

Edlyn Weekes


514-457-6610 ext. 5045
HS-503
edlyn.weekes@johnabbott.qc.ca


Susan Young : Co-Chair

Susan Young

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5813
HS-522
susan.young@johnabbott.qc.ca


Melvin John Yumang :

Melvin John Yumang




melvin.yumang@johnabbott.qc.ca


Members of the Department - Nursing Intensive

Intensive Nursing Office :

Intensive Nursing Office


514-457-6610 ext. 5013
HS-518
nursing.office@johnabbott.qc.ca


Rosalind Belgrave :

Rosalind Belgrave


514-457-6610 ext. 5034
HS-513
rosalind.belgrave@johnabbott.qc.ca


Polina Belts :

Polina Belts



HS-504
polina.belts@johnabbott.qc.ca


Fay Bouthillier :

Fay Bouthillier


514-457-6610 ext. 5436
HS-5436
fay.bouthillier@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sabrina Boutin :

Sabrina Boutin



HS-504
sabrina.boutin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Theresa Broda :

Theresa Broda


514-457-6610 ext. 5078
HS-504
theresa.broda@johnabbott.qc.ca


Catherine Colman :

Catherine Colman



HS-504
catherine.colman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hortense Dawkins :

Hortense Dawkins



HS-504
hortense.dawkins@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lyne De Palma : Coordinator, Intensive Nursing

Lyne De Palma

Coordinator, Intensive Nursing
514-457-6610 ext. 5633
HS-526



Tamara Faubert :

Tamara Faubert



HS-504
tamara.faubert@johnabbott.qc.ca


Lisa Frick :

Lisa Frick



HS-504
lisa.frick@johnabbott.qc.ca


Priscilla Gibeault :

Priscilla Gibeault



HS-504
priscilla.gibeault@johnabbott.qc.ca


Marta Hauptman :

Marta Hauptman



HS-504
marta.hauptman@johnabbott.qc.ca


Gloria Hodges :

Gloria Hodges



HS-504
gloria.hodges@concordia.ca


Vandra Holder :

Vandra Holder


514-457-6610 ext. 5525
HS-504
Vandra.holder@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hoda Hussein :

Hoda Hussein


514-457-6610 ext. 5634
HS-504
hoda.hussein@johnabbott.qc.ca


Bernardo Oabel :

Bernardo Oabel


514-457-6610 ext. 5006
H-421
bernardo.oabel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maria Oabel :

Maria Oabel


514-457-6610 ext. 5027
HS-504
maria.oabel@johnabbott.qc.ca


Micheline Pietracupa :

Micheline Pietracupa



HS-504
michelina.pietracupa@johnabbott.qc.ca


Claudette Scott :

Claudette Scott


514-457-6610 ext. 5648
HS-513
claudette.scott@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sonia Shewchuk :

Sonia Shewchuk


514-457-6610 ext. 5208
HS-503
sonia.shewchuck@johnabbott.qc.ca


Karen Shillingford :

Karen Shillingford



H-421
karen.shillingford@johnabbott.qc.ca


Gregory Sobieraj :

Gregory Sobieraj



H-421
gregory.sobieraj@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kristina Straughton :

Kristina Straughton



H-421
kristina.straughton@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kristina Swiercz :

Kristina Swiercz


514-457-6610 ext. 5537
HS-504
kristina.swiercz@johnabbott.qc.ca


Diane Williams :

Diane Williams


514-457-6610 ext. 5646
HS-504
diane.williams@johnabbott.qc.ca


Meighan Wilson :

Meighan Wilson


514-457-6610 ext. 5432

meighan.wilson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tracie Wong :

Tracie Wong



HS-504
tracie.wong@johnabbott.qc.ca


Courses

For a complete list of courses taught by the Nursing department, please visit the Nursing section of the Course Calendar.