Welcome

For complete information on the Computer Science program, please visit the program section of the John Abbott website.

Members of the Department

Bultena, Sandra :

Bultena, Sandra


514-457-6610 ext. 5079
P-231
sandra.bultena@johnabbott.qc.ca

Although my background is in physics, my love of programming stems from the first time I was able to make a computer program do what I wanted (all ten lines of it!).  I find programming to be a very creative process, satisfying my need to control (bwa ha ha!), giving me great joy when solving complex problems, and providing me with the intense satisfaction of having created something that I made with my own little hands (figuratively speaking of course).

After spending more than 18 years in the aeronautics field, I am ready to tackle the more challenging task of infecting students with the love of programming.

My door is always open for students to come for help, questions, or just general chit-chat about anything.  By the way, the answer is 42.

Credentials: BSc (UVic), MSc (McGill), PhD (UdeM) - physics


Buschinelli, Mauricio Andres :

Buschinelli, Mauricio Andres


514-457-6610 ext. 5198
P-237
mauricio.buschinelli@johnabbott.qc.ca


Chadillon, Chris :

Chadillon, Chris


514-457-6610 ext. 5820
P-237
cchadillon@johnabbott.qc.ca


Clement, Ian : Co-Chair

Clement, Ian

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5909
P-227
ian.clement@johnabbott.qc.ca


Fagen, Larry :

Fagen, Larry


514-457-6610 ext. 5195
P-229
lfagen@johnabbott.qc.ca

I teach Multimedia & Internet,  JavaScript, WordPress.

I am also the Stage Coordinator for the department and I help students find job opportunities.


Gryte, Dan :

Gryte, Dan


514-457-6610 ext. 5907
P-235
dan.gryte@johnabbott.qc.ca


Haaf, Michael :

Haaf, Michael


514-457-6610 ext. 5939
P-235
Michael.Haaf@johnabbott.qc.ca


Katalifos, Helen : Co-Chair

Katalifos, Helen

Co-Chair


helen.katalifos@johnabbott.qc.ca


Larco, Gabriel :

Larco, Gabriel


514-457-6610 ext. 5603
P-235
gabriel.larco@johnabbott.qc.ca


Matthews, Jim :

Matthews, Jim


514-457-6610 ext. 5198
P-237
jim.matthews@johnabbott.qc.ca


Mourtada. Aref : Co-Chair

Mourtada. Aref

Co-Chair

P-239
aref.mourtada@johnabbott.qc.ca


Scotnotis, Claudiu :

Scotnotis, Claudiu


514-457-6610 ext. 5778
P-227
claudiu.scotnotis@johnabbott.qc.ca

I loooove teaching! I love it when students reach that Aha! moment. I believe everyone can learn when given the proper tools and they have intrinsic motivation. My teaching career revolves around motivating students to pursue their learning goals. My goal inside the classroom is lowering the learning curve on any subject to make complex topics easier to understand. I believe education should be as practical as possible and help students on their path of becoming lifelong learners.
I specialize in teaching programming, web development and databases.
I enjoy long walks on the beach and a sense of humor 😊


Singh, Vikram :

Singh, Vikram


514-457-6610 ext. 5961
P-231
vikram.singh@johnabbott.qc.ca

Being a JAC CS graduate (2011) myself, I can tell you that I am very proud to be teaching in the same program that inspired me to become a web developer. I pursued my bachelor's of CS (2019) at Concordia University with a specialization in web services and applications. Most recently, I completed my graduate certificate of college teaching (2020) at the University of Sherbrooke, and hopefully, I'll complete the full master's of education degree soon! I've worked at many different companies, mostly as a web developer, and what I love the most about the web is how accessible it is to access (as a user) and write (as a developer). 💪

I've been teaching in the Computer Science program since the Fall of 2019 and have loved every minute of it! When I'm not doing webby things, I'm usually playing video games or getting lost down a YouTube rabbit hole. 🐰

Don't hesitate to come by my office or shoot me an email if you want to talk about anything - web related or otherwise! 😁


Terzian, Meghrig :

Terzian, Meghrig




meghrig.terzian@johnabbott.qc.ca

I joined the faculty of Computer Science in the fall of 2020, after receiving my PhD degree in Computer Science from Concordia University in 2018. My research focused on algorithm design and computational complexity. Throughout the years of my graduate studies, I was a lecturer, teacher, and a teaching assistant.
The moment when my students understand the concept I am talking about, is the part I enjoy most about teaching. I am always eager to learn new technologies and transfer my knowledge to my students.


Courses

COURSES

For a complete list of courses taught by the Computer Science department, please visit both the Computer Science and the Complementaries sections of the Course Calendar.

Supplemental Information