Visual Arts

Welcome

VA_print pressesVISUAL ARTS is a two-year pre-university program that aims to prepare students for continued studies in a creative discipline. Courses are offered in painting, drawing, sculpture, printmaking, photography, digital media and art history. Students work closely with teachers and studio technicians in professionally equipped studios. The program emphasizes the production of visual works informed by an attention to aesthetics, technical skill, research and critical thinking. Throughout the two-year program students develop a comprehensive skill set geared toward maximizing their creative potential and the ability to understand how art movements relate to greater cultural contexts.

Studios

VA_sculpture 1SPACIOUS ART STUDIOS featuring state of the art equipment and natural light provide a quality working environment, meeting the needs of the students as they progress through the program. In addition to our two drawing and painting studios, there are three sculpture studios, which include a wood, metal and ceramics studio. Our printmaking studio is equipped for relief printing, etching, serigraphy and lithography. The Visual Arts department also boasts a dedicated Digital Arts multi-media lab.

Courses

courses

THE VISUAL ARTS PROGRAM offers courses in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography,  sculpture, digital media, ceramics, and art history.  For more details about the courses offered by the Visual Arts department, please visit both the Visual Arts and the General Education (Complementary courses) of the COURSE CALENDAR or consult the VISUAL ARTS PLANNER.

How to Apply

In addition to the general CEGEP admissions requirements, new entrance requirements will be in effect for the Visual Arts program starting Fall 2017.

  • Submission of a JPEG image of a unique artwork created specifically for the application to the Visual Arts program. The artwork may be created in any medium and any size. It will respond in an open and creative manner to a theme established annually by the Department.
  • Submission of a text (250 to 350 words) to accompany the image in which the candidate is invited to express the creative process they went through to produce the artwork. The text will also be an opportunity for the candidate to express their personal interest in pursuing a DEC in Visual Arts.

The theme for 2017 will be “Light and Dark.” Candidates are invited to respond to the theme in an open and creative manner. “Light and Dark” may be interpreted symbolically and/or literally.

Artwork should be documented and submitted as a single digital JPEG file: 72 dpi, 1024 x 768 pixels, maximum 1 MB.

Send image and written text directly to visual.arts@johnabbott.qc.ca before the March 1st application deadline.

Subject line: Application submission

Graduation Exhibition

6_graduation-exhibition

EACH YEAR, the Visual Arts program culminates in a graduate exhibition that is open to the public. In the final semester of study, students work closely with faculty in order to create an independent body of advanced work for exhibition. Students participate in the comprehensive planning and presentation of the exhibition from public relations to installation, lighting and vernissage.

Faculty and Staff

Randall Anderson :

Randall Anderson


514-457-6610 ext. 5447
C-0004
randall.anderson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Veronika Horlik :

Veronika Horlik


514-457-6610 ext. 5808
C-102
veronika.horlik@johnabbott.qc.ca


Peter Irrgang :

Peter Irrgang


514-457-6610 ext. 5394
C-0029
peter.irrgang@johnabbott.qc.ca


David Lubell :

David Lubell


514-457-6610 ext. 5793
C-102
david.lubell@johnabbott.qc.ca


Jamie Macaulay :

Jamie Macaulay


514-457-6610 ext. 5471
P-243
jamie.macaulay@johnabbott.qc.ca


Susan Marsh :

Susan Marsh


514-457-6610 ext. 5647
C-107
susan.marsh@johnabbott.qc.ca


Gordana Mijovic :

Gordana Mijovic


514-457-6610 ext. 5576
C-104 Visual Arts
gordana.mijovic@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sheila Nadimi : Chair

Sheila Nadimi

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5792
C-106
sheila.nadimi@johnabbott.qc.ca


Monika Napier :

Monika Napier


514-457-6610 ext. 5735
CA-108
monika.napier@johnabbott.qc.ca


Suzanne Olligschlager :

Suzanne Olligschlager


514-457-6610 ext. 5794
C-108
suzanne.olligschlager@johnabbott.qc.ca


Erwin Regler :

Erwin Regler


514-457-6610 ext. 5791
C-0004
erwin.regler@johnabbott.qc.ca


Mary Standjofski :

Mary Standjofski


514-457-6610 ext. 5786
C-108
mary.standjofski@johnabbott.qc.ca