Humanities, Philosophy and Religion (HPR)

Welcome to the Department of Humanities, Philosophy and Religion (HPR)

HPR is a department composed of interdisciplinary scholars who would like to introduce you to the world, to the past, and to yourself. We offer first and second level courses in philosophy and religion for Social Science and the CALL program. Our Humanities course offerings come in three forms.

The first kind of Humanities class (World Views) focuses primarily upon the present. In these classes, we will introduce you to the arts, media and politics of our world; and we will encourage you to learn about a foreign culture or look at your own culture more critically.

The second kind of Humanities class (Knowledge) focuses primarily upon the past. In these classes, we will introduce you to some of the key texts, ideas, visions, and dilemmas that lie at the foundations of world civilizations.

The third kind of Humanities class (Ethics) focuses primarily upon the care of the self. In these classes, we will introduce you to practical and theoretical exercises which promote introspection, self-knowledge, and wellness. In addition, the Ethics courses examine representation, ideology, racism, bioethics, the media, and the relationship between science, technology and society.

Though the study of the past, the present and the personal are naturally connected, we believe that our department’s strength lies in the diversity of our approaches to the human condition.

Department Chairs

List of Department Chairs
Violaine Arès : Chair

Violaine Arès

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5176
HA-206
violaine.ares@johnabbott.qc.ca


Robert Collins : Co-Chair

Robert Collins

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5845
HA-101
robert.collins@johnabbott.qc.ca


Roy Fu : Co-Chair

Roy Fu

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5006
HA-205
roy.fu@johnabbott.qc.ca


Eric Laferrière : Co-Chair

Eric Laferrière

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext 5178
HA-104
eric.laferriere@johnabbott.qc.ca


Members of the Department

List of Faculty Members
Violaine Arès : Chair

Violaine Arès

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5176
HA-202
violaine.ares@johnabbott.qc.ca


David Austin :

David Austin


514-457-6610 ext. 5181
HA-112
david.austin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Mario Bellemare :

Mario Bellemare


514-457-6610 ext. 5711
HA-210
mario.bellemare@johnabbott.qc.ca


Meredith Browne :

Meredith Browne


514-457-6610 ext. 5140
HA-105 Humanities, Philosophy, & Religion
meredith.brown@johnabbott.qc.ca


Robert Collins : Co-Chair

Robert Collins

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5845
HA-101
robert.collins@johnabbott.qc.ca


Brandon Daniel-Hughes :

Brandon Daniel-Hughes


514-457-6610 ext. 5982
HA-110
brandon.daniel-hughes@johnabbott.qc.ca

Brandon teaches religion and philosophy. His courses include World Religions, New Religious Movements, Religion, Body and Myth, Biblical Literacy, Religious Ethics and Ritual and Tradition. His research focuses on the American Pragmatic tradition, especially the work of Charles Sanders Peirce and the naturalist philosophical traditions that grow out of process and pragmatic thought.


Christine Davet :

Christine Davet


514-457-6610 ext. 5236
HA-213
christine.davet@johnabbott.qc.ca


Paul Di Stefano : Coordinator, Peace Studies

Paul Di Stefano

Coordinator, Peace Studies
514-457-6610 ext. 5180
HA-210
paul.distefano@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sylvain Duguay :

Sylvain Duguay


514-457-6610 ext. 5130
HA-212
sylvain.duguay@johnabbott.qc.ca

Born in a tiny village in the Charlevoix region, Sylvain Duguay starts his academic journey by enrolling in the Canadian Navy and exploring the world of pure and applied sciences at the Royal Military College of Canada, in Saint-Jean-sur-Richelieu and Kingston. He quickly discovers a passion for literature and the humanities and graduates from RMC with a BA in Études françaises. He then moves to Montreal and he completes a MA in Langue et literatures françaises at McGill. His PhD in Humanities, from Concordia, presents him with the opportunity to study questions of sexuality, gender, and identity as they are represented in theatre and film. A postdoctoral grant sees him join UQAM’s École supérieure de théâtre for a 2-year research project on multimedia theatre.

At John Abbott College since 2010, Sylvain encourages students to learn about themselves and the societies in which they live. He uses philosophy, cultural theory, science fiction, cinema, short stories, and a variety of other approaches to help students develop critical tools, and become more knowledgeable and more engaged citizens.

He is tall, and he likes to swim. He is also convinced that he has the best job in the world.


Roy Fu : Co-Chair

Roy Fu

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5006
HA-205
roy.fu@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sujata Ghosh :

Sujata Ghosh


514-457-6610 ext. 5151
HA-112
sujata.ghosh@johnabbott.qc.ca


Grell Grant :

Grell Grant


514-457-6610 ext. 5169
HA-211 Humanities, Philosophy, & Religion
grell.grant@johnabbott.qc.ca


John Faithful Hamer :

John Faithful Hamer


514-457-6610 ext. 5162
HA-213
john.hamer@johnabbott.qc.ca


Karen Kaderavek :

Karen Kaderavek


514-457-6610 ext. 5155
HA-109
karen.kaderavek@johnabbott.qc.ca


Eileen Kerwin-Jones : Coordinator, Women's Studies and Gender Relations

Eileen Kerwin-Jones

Coordinator, Women's Studies and Gender Relations
514-457-6610 ext. 5420
HO-316
eileen.kerwinjones@johnabbott.qc.ca


Eric Laferrière : Co-Chair

Eric Laferrière

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5178
HA-101 Humanities, Philosophy, & Religion
eric.laferriere@johnabbott.qc.ca


Avery Larose :

Avery Larose


514-457-6610 ext. 5185
HA-212
avery.larose@johnabbott.qc.ca


Alexa Leblanc :

Alexa Leblanc


514-457-6610 ext. 5721
HA-109
alexa.leblanc@johnabbott.qc.ca


Grace Cheng-Ying Lin :

Grace Cheng-Ying Lin


514-457-6610 ext. 5803
HA-101
grace.lin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Debbie Lunny :

Debbie Lunny


514-457-6610 ext. 5159
HA-209
debbie.lunny@johnabbott.qc.ca


Derek Maisonville :

Derek Maisonville


514-457-6610 ext. 5495
HA-113
derek.maisonville@johnabbott.qc.ca


Natalie Malo-Fletcher :

Natalie Malo-Fletcher


514-457-6610 ext. 5462
HA-110
natalie.malo-fletcher@johnabbott.qc.ca


Maria Mamfredis :

Maria Mamfredis


514-457-6610 ext. 5173
HA-102
maria.mamfredis@johnabbott.qc.ca


Mark McGuire :

Mark McGuire


514-457-6610 ext. 5166
HA-212 Humanities, Philosophy, & Religion
mark.mcguire@johnabbott.qc.ca

I have been teaching Humanities and religious studies courses at John Abbott since 2005 and was elected to the executive committee of the faculty union (JACFA) in 2012. I greatly value the warm and supportive community of faculty, staff and students. An experience with a Québec union delegation and our Venezuelan colleagues at the 2005 World Social Forum in Caracas had a significant impact on my teaching, engagement with, and general outlook on the world.

In 2006 I co-founded the campus sustainability initiative and sought to implement collaborative and participatory decision-making. Our latest project is the creation of a campus garden to reconnect to the food cycle, improve biodiversity and provide fresh produce to the campus food bank.

I make documentary films, write, read, cycle, garden, and spend as much time with my two children and partner as possible. A documentary film co-produced in Japan with Montreal filmmaker and friend Jean-Marc Abela (www.shugendonow.com) has been screened at festivals and conferences worldwide. We were honoured with the 2011 David W. Plath educational media award from the American Anthropology Association. I am currently working on a new documentary about the impacts of inherited trauma across generations.

In my classes I try to increase awareness about the far-reaching consequences of daily choices (our ways of consuming, thinking, and habits of being in the world) and inspire students to become more fully engaged citizens who take the responsibilities and rights of civic life more seriously.

COURSES

Documenting Myths: film, politics, citizenship Lost in Translation: Japan's hidden diversity À Table: Knowing What to Eat World Religions Integrating Activity in Arts and Culture (CALL Program)

EDUCATION:

B.A. in English/film, Davidson College
M.A. in Asian Studies, Cornell
Ph.D. in Religious studies, Concordia


Kelly McKinney :

Kelly McKinney


514-457-6610 ext. 5183
HA-111
kelly.mckinney@johnabbott.qc.ca


Michael Nafi :

Michael Nafi


514-457-6610 ext. 5193
HA-209
michael.nafi@johnabbott.qc.ca


Johanna Okker :

Johanna Okker


514-457-6610 ext. 5174
HA-209
johanna.okker@johnabbott.qc.ca


Azra Rashid :

Azra Rashid


514-457-6610 ext. 5722
HA-110
azra.rashid@johnabbott.qc.ca


Carla Salvati :

Carla Salvati


carla.salvati@johnabbott.qc.ca
HO-304
Carla Salvati


Alberto Sanchez :

Alberto Sanchez


514 457 6610 ext 5989
HA-113
alberto.sanchez@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kathleen Donahue Sherwood :

Kathleen Donahue Sherwood


514-457-6610 ext. 5186
HA-207
kathleen.sherwood@johnabbott.qc.ca


Candis Steenbergen :

Candis Steenbergen


514-457-6610 ext. 5712
HA-109
candis.steenbergen@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sandra Stephenson :

Sandra Stephenson


514-457-6610 ext. 5171
HA-111
sandra.stephenson@johnabbott.qc.ca


Penny Stewart :

Penny Stewart


514-457-6610 ext. 5175
HA-212
penny.stewart@johnabbott.qc.ca


Irini Tsakiri :

Irini Tsakiri


514-457-6610 ext. 5179
HA-106
irini.tsakiri@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sarwat Viqar :

Sarwat Viqar


514-457-6610 ext. 5177
HA-204
sarwat.viqar@johnabbott.qc.ca


Hajra Waheed :

Hajra Waheed


514-457-6610 ext. 5426
On Leave
hajra.waheed@johnabbott.qc.ca


Alan Weiss :

Alan Weiss


514-457-6610 ext. 5172
HA-211
alan.weiss@johnabbott.qc.ca


Anna Woodrow :

Anna Woodrow


514-457-6610 ext. 5137
HA-107 Humanities, Philosophy, & Religion
anna.woodrow@johnabbott.qc.ca


Tom Young :

Tom Young


514-457-6610 ext. 5750
HA-101
tom.young@johnabbott.qc.ca


Courses

For a detailed course offering, please visit the General Education (Humanities) section of the Course Calendar.

Supplemental Information