Mathematics

Welcome


Image of stained glass window

The Department of Mathematics is located on the second floor of the Herzberg building.

Most of the teachers’ offices are located on the perimeter of the Math Study Area (H-200). This space can accommodate about 24 students at large tables. Some students regularly use this area as a place to work between classes. Sometimes teachers will have impromptu workshop sessions here with their students if several of them have turned up with questions on a particular topic.

All Math teachers have posted schedules on their doors, which indicate when they are in class and when you can expect them to be available in their offices. The teachers have weekly office hours scheduled when their students may drop in for help. In addition, many teachers indicate times when they will come in if their students make appointments with them in advance. You will find that an unofficial “open door” policy is in effect in the Math Department: an open office door indicates an offer to help.

The Math Help Centre, located in H-200A, is a place where students can drop in and get math help (no appointment required!). The Math Help Centre is staffed by all of our teachers on a rotating basis.


The Math Lab  H-203  offers resources in the form of course texts, solution manuals, study guides, and emergency short-term calculator loans; available from 11:30 to 4:00 daily. Please note that you need your John Abbott I.D. card to borrow materials. Overnight loans can be arranged for some items. Please see the Lab Attendant for details. We encourage quiet study in the Lab. There are eleven computers with MAPLE and other math software available for students’ use.

For practical reasons, eating and drinking are not permitted in the Lab or the Study Area.


About Our Stained Glass Window

When you visit the Mathematics Department at John Abbott College, take a look above the door — you’ll see one of the treasures of the college, the stained glass window we feature on our webpage. It was created around 1983 by John Lehmann, a Fine Arts instructor at the college who was commissioned by the Math Department to design and create a window based on the theme “Mathematics and its place in the world”.

Take a look at the design, and you will see some familiar images, and some perhaps less familiar. For example, Leonardo da Vinci’s “Man in Square and Circle” illustrates mathematical proportions in art, the T-square and dividers illustrate the use of geometry in architectural and engineering design, toroidal surfaces illustrate unusual reference frames, and Venn diagrams (the intersecting sets) represent set theory and logic, which are fundamental concepts in computer science, which is also represented by the old-style computer cards (Hollerith cards aka punch cards). Don’t miss an old favorite, Pythagoras’ Theorem.

We’re proud to be the home of this artwork, and hope it serves as a reminder that Mathematics has a scope far beyond what is covered in a few college courses. And it’s a delight to the eye.

Members of the Department

Some of our faculty maintain websites related to their teaching or mathematical interests: list of faculty websites


Math Department Chair: Kevin Davis
Co-Chairs: Olivier Dubois, Ken Gerber, Alice McLeod

Faculty and Staff

Saba Ahmad :

Saba Ahmad


514-457-6610 ext. 5129
H-214 Mathematics
saba.ahmad@johnabbott.qc.ca


Audrey Baker :

Audrey Baker


514-457-6610 ext. 5956
H-239
audrey.baker@johnabbott.qc.ca


Ferenc Balogh :

Ferenc Balogh


514-457-6610 ext. 5602
H-221
ferenc.balogh@johnabbott.qc.ca


William Boshuck :

William Boshuck


514-457-6610 ext. 5841
H-228
william.boshuck@johnabbot.qc.ca


Nancy Carosiello :

Nancy Carosiello


514-457-6610 ext. 5854
H-209
nancy.carosiello@johnabbott.qc.ca


Dalia Challita :

Dalia Challita


514-457-6610
H-218
dalia.challita@johnabbott.qc.ca


Philippe Chaput :

Philippe Chaput


514-457-6610 ext. 5838
HO-104
philippe.chaput@johnabbott.qc.ca


Giulia Chiappetta :

Giulia Chiappetta


514-457-6610 ext. 5849
H-218
giulia.chiappetta@johnabbott.qc.ca


Derrick Chung :

Derrick Chung


514-457-6610 ext. 5915
H-222
derrick.chung@johnabbott.qc.ca


Cameron Connor :

Cameron Connor


514-457-6610 ext. 5964
H-239
cameron.connor@johnabbott.qc.ca


Jordan Dale Hill :

Jordan Dale Hill


514-457-6610 ext. 5626
H-201
jordan.dalehill@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kevin Davis : Chair

Kevin Davis

Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5075
H-202B
kevin.davis@johnabbott.qc.ca


Philippe Delage :

Philippe Delage


514-457-6610 ext. 5843
H-205 Mathmatics
philippe.delage@johnabbott.qc.ca


Renata Deptula :

Renata Deptula


514-457-6610 ext. 5863
H-224 Mathematics
renata.deptula@johnabbott.qc.ca


Olivier Dubois : Co-Chair

Olivier Dubois

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5857
H-212
olivier.dubois@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kevin Flood :

Kevin Flood


514-457-6610 ext. 5896
H-218
kevin.flood@johnabbott.qc.ca


Sergio Fratarcangeli :

Sergio Fratarcangeli


514-457-6610 ext. 5366
H-204
sergio.fratarcangeli@johnabbott.qc.ca


Daniel Gatien :

Daniel Gatien


514-457-6610 ext. 5840
H-212
daniel.gatien@johnabbott.qc.ca


Kenneth Gerber : Co-Chair

Kenneth Gerber

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5855
H-226
kenneth.gerber@johnabbott.qc.ca


Moushira Guindi :

Moushira Guindi


514-457-6610 ext. 5593
H-204
moushira.guindi@johnabbott.qc.ca


Antoine Herlin :

Antoine Herlin


514-457-6610 ext. 5132
HO-104
antoine.herlin@johnabbott.qc.ca


Yuliya Klochko :

Yuliya Klochko


514-457-6610 ext. 5510
H-207
yuliya.klochko@johnabbott.qc.ca


Caroline Lefebvre :

Caroline Lefebvre


514-457-6610 ext. 5511
H-222
caroline.lefebvre@johnabbott.qc.ca


Frank Lo Vasco :

Frank Lo Vasco


514-457-6610 ext. 5858
H-220
franklv@johnabbott.qc.ca


Jason Lucier :

Jason Lucier


514-457-6610 ext. 5848
H-220
jason.lucier@johnabbott.qc.ca


Richard Masters :

Richard Masters


514-457-6610 ext. 5835
H-228
richard.masters@johnabbott.qc.ca


Alice McLeod : Co-Chair

Alice McLeod

Co-Chair
514-457-6610 ext. 5856
H-201
alice.mcleod@johnabbott.qc.ca


Shery Mikhail :

Shery Mikhail


514-457-6610 ext. 5847
H-210
shery.mikhail@johnabbott.qc.ca


Faranak Mokhtarian :

Faranak Mokhtarian


514-457-6610 ext. 5635
H-207
faranak.mokhtarian@johnabbott.qc.ca


Ethan Mombourquette :

Ethan Mombourquette


514-457-6610 ext. 5641
H-225
ethan.mombourquette@johnabbott.qc.ca


Mehdi Moodi :

Mehdi Moodi


514-457-6610, ext. 5811
H-207
mehdi.moodi@johnabbott.qc.ca


Christophe Morris :

Christophe Morris


514-457-6610 ext. 5522
H-221
christophe.morris@johnabbott.qc.ca


Alex Panassenko :

Alex Panassenko


514-457-6610 ext. 5839
H-209
alexandre.panassenko@johnabbott.qc.ca


Ivo Pendev :

Ivo Pendev


514-457-6610 ext. 5615
H-208
ivo.pendev@johnabbott.qc.ca


Robert Seely :

Robert Seely


514-457-6610 ext. 5865
H-204
robert.seely@johnabbott.qc.ca


Denis Sevee :

Denis Sevee


514-457-6610 ext. 5846
H-218
denis.sevee@johnabbott.qc.ca


Rhoda Sollazzo :

Rhoda Sollazzo


514-457-6610 ext. 5057
H-239
rhoda.sollazzo@johnabbott.qc.ca


Karen Solsten :

Karen Solsten


514-457-6610 ext. 5862
H-205
karen.solsten@johnabbott.qc.ca


Andrea Spencer :

Andrea Spencer


514-457-6610 ext. 5852
H-225
andrea.spencer@johnabbott.qc.ca


Richard Squire :

Richard Squire


514-457-6610 ext. 5850
H-216
richard.squire@johnabbott.qc.ca


Luiz Takei :

Luiz Takei


514-457-6610 ext. 5832
H-208
luiz.kazuotakei@johnabbott.qc.ca


Karli Whitmore :

Karli Whitmore


514-457-6610 ext. 5549
H-203
karli.whitmore@johnabbott.qc.ca


Yu Zhao :

Yu Zhao


514-457-6610 ext. 5760
H-216
yu.zhao@johnabbott.qc.ca



Individual Faculty Websites

William Boshuck: http://wb.tx0.org/

Derrick Chung: http://derrickchung.com/JAC/

Robert Seely: http://www.math.mcgill.ca/rags/jac.html

Denis Sevee: http://www.cam.org/~dsevee/

Course Outlines

The Department of Mathematics offers courses for Social Science, Science, Arts and Sciences, Double DEC: Science and Social Science, Liberal Arts, Biopharmaceutical Production Technology, Computer Science Technology, Engineering Technologies, and Pathways. For more details, please visit the appropriate  sections of the Course Calendar.

Below, you will find the most recent course outline for each course offered by the Department of Mathematics. Note that for multi-section courses, information specific to each section (for example meeting times, instructor contact info, and dates of major evaluations) will be located in an addendum provided by the instructor.

Descriptions and outlines for discontinued courses are included at the bottom of the page, for archival purposes.

Course Outlines

Mise à niveau courses

201-016-50 Algebra and Functions
201-015-50 Algebra and Trigonometry

Social Science & Commerce

201-103-RE Calculus I, Non-Science
201-203-RE Calculus II, Non-Science
201-105-RE Linear Algebra, Non-Science
201-301-RE Advanced Quantitative Methods

Science

201-NYA-05 Calculus I, Science
201-NYB-05 Calculus II, Science
201-NYC-05 Linear Algebra, Science
201-DDB-05 Calculus III
201-DDC-05 Linear Algebra II
201-DDD-05 Statistical Methods

Arts and Sciences

201-AS1-EN Differential Calculus for Arts and Sciences
201-AS2-AB Integral Calculus for Arts and Sciences
201-AS3-AB Statistics for Arts and Sciences
201-AS4-AB Linear Algebra for Arts and Sciences

Engineering Technologies

201-115-AB Mathematical Models 1
201-225-AB Mathematical Models 2

Computer Science Technology

201-803-AB Mathematics 1 for Computer Science Technology
201-813-AB Mathematics 2 for Computer Science Technology

Biopharmaceutical Production Technology

201-2B4-AB Statistics for Biopharmaceutical Production

DISCONTINUED COURSES

 

Old Exams

Final examinations from previous semesters are available here.  Click on the name of the course to see the list of available exams.

Most exams have the answers at the end of the file. For some exams, the questions form one file and the answers form a second file, in which case you will need to click “Answers” to see the answers.

Please tell your instructor about any problems you are having with these exams—and especially if you find a mistake in the answers!

Mise à niveau courses

 

Social Science & Commerce

 

Science

 

Arts and Sciences

 

Engineering Technologies

 

Computer Science Technology

 

Biopharmaceutical Production Technology

 

Course Materials

The Math Department maintains an online repository of supplemental materials, such as exercise sets and notes on certain topics.  Your teacher may direct you to access some of these, or you may find them helpful for independent study.

Click on a subject below to access the index of related supplemental materials.

Calculus – Science
Calculus – Social Science and Commerce
Linear Algebra – Science
Linear Algebra – Social Science and Commerce

Math Competitions

Every year, interested John Abbott College students participate in mathematics competitions at the national and provincial level.

Coaching is provided on Saturdays in advance of each competition. These sessions are a lot of fun.

Interested students should contact William Boshuck at: If you cannot read this email address, visit William Boshuck at H-228

More detailed information can be found at William Boshuck’s website: Mathematics Competitions

Annual Competitions

Sun Life Financial Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge
Canadian Senior Mathematics Contest (CSMC)
Euclid Contest
Concours AMQ

Notable past results

Chenglong Zou and Julia Evans of John Abbott College placed, respectively, first and second in Québec in the 2005 Canadian Open Mathematics Challenge; they were invited to sit the Canadian Mathematical Olympiad and the Asian Pacific Mathematics Olympiad.

Jaeho Lee placed 16th in the 2014 Concours AMQ, and was invited to a summer mathematics camp sponsored by the AMQ.